Spiderseye's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ginger Nuts

Leave a comment

The picture was homely enough.  Four ginger nut biscuits tied together with a thin burgundy coloured ribbon. Reading through the easy sounding recipe, I hunted in the back of the pantry for the necessary ingredients.  Did I have baking soda?  (Not something I use very often)  Yep.  I even have the golden syrup and cinnamon. 

So, all geared up and ready to go.  Oven preheating to 190 degrees and measuring and mixing going well.  I have high hopes for these little beauties……the ground ginger smells devine.  I’m actually a bit of a sneaky ginger freak on the quiet!

The trouble with my biscuits is that they never seem to turn out right !  You never really know before hand how they’re going to behave once they’re in the oven do you? This recipe calls the mixture sticky, yet here I am with a bowlful of crumbs……!   Add more melted butter?  Yep, I think so, just a bit.  Oh well, at least its holding together now. 

Make small balls and flatten slightly………leave enough space between for expansion.

What expansion?    My small balls are still small balls and look absolutely nothing like the four perfect little specimens in the picture.  One out of ten for texture, one out of ten for shape but 8 out of 10 for flavour…..oh well I’ll keep trying.

Author: spiderseye

A gemini soul who loves to communicate and usually has an opinion on current social issues.

Leave a comment